The Music of Life

Life’s music plays on and on
the same cadence and pitch
I respond as I feel,
not editing, not hiding,
Just as I am
Just as I feel.
The fire within blazes outward,
its energy released after eons.
Silence, then joy come after realizations.
The music continues to play,
on and on.
In the past I used to ask
for respite, for time to regroup.
Now I find that those moments
are so intricately woven
into the music,
into my life,
and all I need do is
slow down and listen
and hearken to the music’s beat.

Feedback appreciated!

